Ardie Savea back for Waratahs clash

GettyImages 1396392253

The tight five remains largely unchanged, with the only change being the return of James Blackwell to the second row, following last week's rest. 

Following a series of strong outings off the bench, TK Howden will make a return to the number 6 jersey. Ardie Savea returns to captain his side after taking an enforced rest week, replacing last week's number 8, Tyler Laubscher, who is out with a minor Injury following an impressive debut on Sunday. 

With last week's captain TJ Perenara on his rest week, Jamie Booth replaces him in the number 9 jersey. 

After a solid performance last week, Aidan Morgan retains his starting spot at 10.  

The return of Jordie Barrett sees a re-shuffle in the back line with Billy Proctor moving to the bench and Julian Savea slotting in at 14. Barrett will be partnered by the electric and ever-consistent, Bailyn Sullivan. 

Josh Moorby starts again at fullback after last Sunday’s hat-trick performance.  

Dane Coles and Owen Franks will bring significant experience from a combined 189 test matches to the Hurricanes when they come off the bench again on Saturday. Their presence in the Fijian Drua match brought a physical edge to the team and that will be no different this weekend. 

The match will mark the 50th Super Rugby match the Hurricanes have played in Australia. 

Hurricanes team to face the Waratahs on Saturday 9.45pm NZT at Leichardt Oval (live on Sky Sport NZ): 

1. Xavier Numia 
2. Asafo Aumua 
3. Tyrel Lomax 
4. James Blackwell 
5. Justin Sangster 
6. TK Howden 
7. Du’Plessis Kirifi 
8. Ardie Savea [c] 
9. Jamie Booth 
10. Aidan Morgan 
11. Salesi Rayasi 
12. Jordie Barrett 
13. Bailyn Sullivan 
14. Julian Savea 
15. Josh Moorby 


16. Dane Coles 
17. Tevita Mafileo 
18. Owen Franks 
19. Isaia Walker-Leawere 
20. Caleb Delany 
21. Cameron Roigard 
22. Jackson Garden-Bachop 
23. Billy Proctor 



View all