Schools' teams named for opening matches

NZ Schools 1566169836

Preparing in Australia, the New Zealand Schools’ team will face Tonga in Brisbane tomorrow (kick off 2pm).  

St Kentigern College’s Isaiah Punivai will captain the team and Coach Brad Mooar said they have been preparing well.

“The team is looking forward to coming up against Tonga tomorrow. Our expectation is that they will be a physical side so in picking our team we wanted to make sure we could match that physicality from start to finish.

“We want to be assured in our defence and if we are clear on that it will bring the intensity we want. 

"We are blessed with a lot of leaders in this team, boys who are prefects and captains at their schools. There is a lot of respect for Isaiah on and off the field and along with vice captains Rivez (Reihana) and Iona (Apineru) they make a solid group of leaders.” 

The New Zealand Schools' team is:

1 Tamaiti Williams (St Kentigern College)
2 Soane Vikena (Mt Albert Grammar School)
3 Saula Mau (Auckland Grammar School)
4 Thomas Martin (Hamilton Boys' High)
5 Josh Lord (Hamilton Boys' High)
6 Iona Apineru (St Partick's College - Silverstream)
7 Anton Segner (Nelson College)
8 Niko Jones (St Peter's College)
9 Taufa Funaki (Sacred Heart College)
10 Rivez Reihana (St Kentigern College)
11 Josiah Maraku Feilding (Agricultural High School)
12 Gideon Wrampling (St Paul's Collegiate)
13 Isaiah Punivai (St Kentigern College)
14 Ethan Webster-Nonu (Scots College)
15 Blair Murray (New Plymouth Boys' High School)

16 Tyrone Thompson (Napier Boys' High School)
17 Matt Graham-Williams (St Kentigern College)
18 Tiaan Tauakipulu (St Kentigern College)
19 Simon Parker (St Peter's School)
20 George Prain (Rangiora High School)
21 Louie Chapman (Christchurch Boys' High School)
22 Zarn Sullivan (King's College)
23 Chay Fihaki (Sacred Heart College)

In Wellington, the New Zealand Schools’ Barbarians team will face the New Zealand Under 18 Maori team (kick off 2pm). 

Coach Cory Brown said the team are expecting a tough challenge tomorrow. 

“It’s impressive how tight this team has become over the past few days, they have been preparing extremely well. 

“The focus for us is that Barbarians style of rugby, playing an expansive game and playing with confidence,” said Brown. 

Auckland Grammar School’s Corey Evans has been selected to captain the team, with Sam Smith, from Wairarapa College, vice-captain. 

“Corey has shown his skills as a rugby player since in camp and we know he led his school team well so was a stand out for captain.” 

The New Zealand Barbarians Schools' team is:

1 Poukohe Sorenson (Rotorua Boys’ High School) 
2 Arther Allen (Christ's College) 
3 Patrick Teddy (Napier Boys' High School) 
4 Robert Rush (St Kentigern College) 
5 Zachary Gallagher (Christ's College) 
6 Samuel Smith (Wairarapa College) 
7 Noah Perelini (King's College) 
8 Keelan Whitman (St Patrick's College) 
9 James Arscott (Otago Boys' High School) 
10 Stewart Cruden (Palmerston North Boys' High School) 
11 Caleb Cavubati (Scots College) 
12 Corey Evans (Auckland Grammar School) 
13 Lukas Halls (King's College) 
14 Roderick Solo (Scots College) 
15 Peniasi Lasaqa (St Kentigern College) 

16 Jacob Payne (Southland Boys' High School) 
17 Benet Kumeroa (Auckland Grammar School)
18 Ovaleni Uelese (Scots College) 
19 Mahonri Ngakuru (St Kentigern College) 
20 Joshua Gimblett (Napier Boys' High School) 
21 Kristian Standen (New Plymouth Boys' High School) 
22 Tahu Kaa (Christchurch Boys' High School) 
23 Ropati So'oalo (Aotea College)

MATCH SCHEDULE (kick off times listed in local time)
27 September 
New Zealand Schools v Tonga Schools, 2pm at Sunnybank Rugby Club, Brisbane
New Zealand Barbarians Schools v New Zealand Maori Under 18, 2pm at Porirua Park, Wellington  

1 October New Zealand Schools v Australian schools Barbarians, 2pm at Tennyson Field, Brisbane 
New Zealand Barbarians Schools v Fiji Schools, 2pm at Porirua Park, Wellington

6 October New Zealand Schools v Australian Schools, 5pm at Ballymore Stadium, Brisbane

NZ Schools 1566169836