Schools' teams named for second matches

NZ Schools 1566169794

The Schools' team will face Australia Schools' Barbarians in Brisbane, hoping to back up from a dominant 54-0 victory over their Tongan counterparts last week.

Coach Brad Mooar has made 10 changes to the starting line up, with Thomas Martin and Niko Jones the only forwards retaining starting positions while in the backline, captain Isaiah Punivai, Gideon Wrampling and Blair Murray will also back up after strong performances on Thursday.

The match kicks off at 2pm (5pm NZT) at Tennyson Field and will be live streamed on 

The New Zealand Schools' team is:

1 Matt Graham-Williams (St Kentigern College)
2 Tyrone Thompson (Napier Boys' High School)
3 Patrick Thacker (Christs College)
4 Thomas Martin (Hamilton Boys' High)
5 Sam Darry (Christs College)
6 Simon Parker (St Peter's School)
7 George Prain (Rangiora High School)
8 Niko Jones (St Peter's College)
9 Louie Chapman (Christchurch Boys' High School)
10 Zarn Sullivan (King's College)
11 Jacob Kneepkens (Francis Douglas Memorial College)
12 Chay Fihaki (Sacred Heart College)
13 Isaiah Punivai (St Kentigern College)
14 Gideon Wrampling (St Paul's Collegiate)
15 Blair Murray (New Plymouth Boys' High School)

16 Tiaan Tauakipulu (St Kentigern College) 
17 Tamaiti Williams (St Kentigern College) 
18 Saula Mau (Auckland Grammar School) 
19 Josh Lord (Hamilton Boys' High School) 
20 Anton Segner (Nelson College) 
21 Taufa Funaki (Sacred Heart College( 
22 Rivez Reihana (St Kentigern College) 
23 Josiah Maraku (Fielding Agricultural High School)

The Barbarians Schools team will be looking to bounce back after a one-point loss to the New Zealand Under 18 Maori team last week in Wellington.
Coach Cory Brown has made four changes to the starting forward pack while in the backline captain Corey Evans moves to first five-eighth with Stewart Cruden starting at fullback.

The match kicks off at 2pm at Porirua Park.

The New Zealand Barbarians Schools' team is:

1 Benet Kumeroa (Auckland Grammar School) 
2 Arther Allen (Christ's College) 
3 Ovaleni Uelese (Scots College) 
4 Mahonri Ngakuru (St Kentigern College) 
5 Zachary Gallagher (Christ's College) 
6 Joshua Gimblett (Napier Boys' High School) 
7 Noah Perelini (King's College) 
8 Keelan Whitman (St Patrick's College) 
9 James Arscott (Otago Boys' High School) 
10 Corey Evans (Auckland Grammar School) 
11 Caleb Cavubati (Scots College) 
12 Tahu Kaa (Christchurch Boys' High School) 
13 Lukas Halls (King's College) 
14 Peniasi Lasaqa (St Kentigern College) 
15 Stewart Cruden (Palmerston North Boys' High School) 

16 Jacob Payne (Southland Boys' High School) 
17 Poukohe Sorenson (Rotorua Boy's High School) 
18 Hamdhan Tuipulotu (St Peter's College) 
19 Robert Rush (St Kentigern College) 
20 Samuel Smith (Wairarapa College) 
21 Kristian Standen (New Plymouth Boys' High School) 
22 Roderick Solo (Scots College) 
23 Ropati So'oalo (Aotea College)

MATCH SCHEDULE (kick off times listed in local time)
27 September 
New Zealand Schools v Tonga Schools, 2pm at Sunnybank Rugby Club, Brisbane
New Zealand Barbarians Schools v New Zealand Maori Under 18, 2pm at Porirua Park, Wellington  

1 October New Zealand Schools v Australian schools Barbarians, 2pm at Tennyson Field, Brisbane 
New Zealand Barbarians Schools v Fiji Schools, 2pm at Porirua Park, Wellington

6 October New Zealand Schools v Australian Schools, 5pm at Ballymore Stadium, Brisbane
NZ Schools 1566169794


View all