Sharks seeking to up consistency in Dunedin

GettyImages 1150159525 v2


Nkosi, a try scorer in the win, has a minor niggle that will allow Madosh Tambwe to make his debut for the side. Two of the Sharks, captain and centre Lukhano Am and replacement Craig Burden will play their 50th games for the Sharks.


The Sharks are looking forward to playing in the conditions under the roof in Dunedin. Having come from the notoriously humid, and slippery, conditions in Durban they have found it more to their liking.


"The guys are enjoying the conditions here," coach Sean Everitt told


"We play this match against the Highlanders under cover, so the conditions will suit us. I think the guys will find it refreshing although this first week is tough because we'll just have one training session due to travel.


"But we are happy with all the prep we did in pre-season, and the fact that the injury toll wasn't serious outside of Sbu is a big play," he said.


The Sharks also had the confidence boost they took from their 23-15 win over the Bulls in Durban in round one.


"It was a massive confidence booster. It was good reward for the players who worked tirelessly over the course of the pre-season. They've been amazing so it's good that they put in a good performance, even if there were some errors, both teams made them in the tough conditions. So we're happy with how things went and it was great to get onto the plane with a win," Everitt said.


The challenge in Dunedin would be reducing errors, continuing improvement and closing in on their goal of consistency through the season.


"We've said before that this team needs to be more consistent, we've been criticised for that, so consistency is key. Going overseas for four weeks is tough, we know that, but this team has a vibe about it and they are really keen to take up the challenge," he said.


The Sharks side is: 1.Ox Nche, 2.Kerron van Vuuren, 3.Thomas du Toit, 4.Ruben van Heerden, 5.Hyron Andrews, 6.James Venter, 7.Tyler Paul, 8.Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 9.Louis Schreuder, 10.Curwin Bosch, 11.Makazole Mapimpi, 12.Andre Esterhuizen, 13.Lukhanyo Am (captain), 14.Madosh Tambwe, 15.Aphelele Fassi.


Substitutes: 16.Craig Burden, 17.Juan Schoeman, 18.John-Hubert Meyer, 19.Le Roux Roets, 20.Henco Venter, 21.Sanele Nohamba, 22.Boeta Chamberlain, 23.Jeremy Ward.


View all