Speights Highlanders named to play the Rebels

GettyImages 1317950701 v2

Due to the recently extended travel ban between NZ and Australia the Highlanders will be jumping on a plane, not a bus, for their third-round fixture against the Melbourne Rebels.


A slightly refreshed look to the team sees Ethan De Groot, Josh Dickson and James Lentjes come into the starting squad while Jeff Thwaites and Manaaki Selby-Rickit come onto the bench. A rare start for Liam Coltman means inspirational leader Ash Dixon will make his impact from the bench. 


James Lentjes will play his 50th game for the Highlanders after making his debut against the Stormers in 2015, going on to play in both the semi-final and final for that Championship winning side. Lentjes who was the Captain in 2020 is known as a rugged loose forward with a high work rate. 


Highlanders v Rebels, 5.00pm NZT, 30 May, Leichardt Oval, Sydney 

1. Ethan De Groot 

2. Liam Coltman 

3. Siate Tokolahi 

4. Pari Pari Parkinson 

5. Josh Dickson 

6. Shannon Frizell 

7. James Lentjes* 

8. Hugh Renton 

9. Aaron Smith (cc) 

10. Mitch Hunt 

11 Jona Nareki 

12. Scott Gregory 

13. Michael Collins 

14. Patelesio Tomkinson 

15. Josh Ioane 


16. Ash Dixon (cc) 

17. Ayden Johnstone 

18. Jeff Thwaites 

19. Manaaki Selby-Rickit 

20. Kazuki Himeno 

21. Kayne Hammington 

22. Ngatungane Punivai 

23. Billy Harmon  



View all