'Super Round Melbourne' returns to light up Melbourne in March

GettyImages 1403632138

Trans-Tasman rivalries will be on show for the first time in one place, with Melbourne host to all 12 Super Rugby Pacific teams who will face-off for Round Two of the regular season (Moana Pasifika v Western Force was cancelled in 2022 due to COVID). AAMI Park, home of the Melbourne Rebels, is regarded worldwide as one of the best stadiums to watch Rugby Union located in the heart of Melbourne.

 

Minister for Tourism, Sport and Major Events Steve Dimopoulos said: “For sporting fans across the world and the nation, there’s no better place to be than in Victoria over the next week - and next year will be even bigger with the return of a weekend-long festival of Super Rugby in 2023.”

 

“Our year-round calendar of world-class events will be even better with the addition of Super Round Melbourne in 2023, which is set to draw thousands of interstate and international visitors to Victoria.” 

 

Double-headers are scheduled across each of the three-days with defending champions the Crusaders kicking off the weekend against the Highlanders at 6pm AEDT Friday night (8pm NZDT), followed by hometown team the Melbourne Rebels to host the Hurricanes on at 8.10pm AEDT (10.10pm NZDT).

 

The second iteration of Super Round Melbourne will be more than just rugby with event organisers planning additional music, entertainment, food offerings and interactive experiences to be held around AAMI Park for fans to enjoy.

 

Activations celebrating the cultures that make up the Super Rugby Pacific competition will be held across the three-days, with a record number of South Pacific fans expected to travel to Melbourne to experience a unique weekend of rugby.

SANZAAR CEO Brendan Morris stated, “It is fantastic that based on last year’s success we are heading to Melbourne once again for Super Round. The concept of having all the matches at one venue, in one city, over a single weekend is a big attraction for the tournament and is appealing to our fans.

 

We are building on the lessons of last year to deliver an even bigger Super Round in March next year in Melbourne. The teams and players are all focussed on Super Round and are all enthusiastically behind the event which showcases some of the best rugby players in the world, and all that is good about rugby in the Pacific.”

 

The first-ever Super Round saw more than 30,000 rugby fans from across Australia, New Zealand and Pacific Islands come to AAMI Park over the 2022 ANZAC weekend. Organisers are expecting bigger crowds in 2023 with Super Round Melbourne scheduled before the start of the 2023 AFL and NRL seasons and with New Zealand borders open. The 2022 edition recorded wins to the Chiefs, Blues, Hurricanes, Brumbies and Crusaders providing three days of world class rugby for passionate rugby fans and general sports enthusiasts in Melbourne.

 

TEG CEO Geoff Jones said Super Round Melbourne 2023 would be bigger and better than ever before.

 

“Super Round Melbourne is quickly establishing itself as one of the pinnacle rugby events on the sporting calendar. To bring all 12 teams to Melbourne is an incredibly unique opportunity for fans to see their heroes in one place over one weekend,” Jones said.

 

“We look forward to creating a hugely exciting festival of rugby and welcome fans from across Australia, New Zealand and the Pacific Islands. This weekend will showcase the very best of Super Rugby Pacific.”

 

“We’re delighted to bring Super Round Melbourne back for the second year with the support of the Victorian Government and Visit Victoria.” 

  

Super Round 2023 Match Schedule*

 

Friday 3 March 2023

Crusaders v Highlanders, 6.00pm AEDT / 8.00pm NZDT

Melbourne Rebels v Hurricanes, 8.10pm AEDT / 10.10 pm NZDT

 

Saturday 4 March 2023

Moana Pasifika v Chiefs, 5.05pm AEDT / 7.05PM NZDT

Fijian Drua v Waratahs, 7.45pm AEDT / 9.45PM NZDT

 

Sunday 5 March 2023

Blues v Brumbies, 2.00pm AEDT / 4.00pm NZDT

Force v Reds, 4.30pm AEDT / 6.30pm NZDT

 

*the full DHL Super Rugby Pacific 2023 draw will be released in the coming month.

 

Ticketing and Hospitality Information

 

Corporate hospitality packages are on sale NOW at VIPNOW.com.au

 

Rugby Family & Club Member pre-sale go on sale Tuesday September 27 at 3.00pm NZDT (12.00pm AEST).

 

Fans are encouraged to join the pre-sale waitlist to get exclusive access HERE

 

General public tickets will go on sale Wednesday September 28 at 6.00pm NZDT (3.00pm AEST) via Ticketek.

 

A range of ticketing options from One-day to Three-day passes available. Adult tickets start at $39. Three-day passes to see all six games start at $89.

LATEST NEWS

View all