Super Rugby class of 2020 comes together

Super Rugby rookies FINAL

The two-day induction plays an important role in ensuring players are ready to cope with all of the off-field pressures that come with being full-time professional rugby players.


From mental well-being and de-stressing, to healthy relationships and social media guidance and more, players are given the chance to learn, contribute and talk about topics that may affect them during their Super Rugby careers.


In total, there are 47 players who have signed New Zealand Super Rugby contracts for the first time in 2020.


Throughout the 2020 season, the Super Rugby NZ website and social media channels will keep a close eye on the progress of the ‘rookies’ and rank the top three rookies following each round.


A leader board will keep track of the leading rookies and a Super Rugby Rookie of the Year will be crowned at the end of the season as judged by Super Rugby writers.



The new recruits who have signed Super Rugby contracts for the first time are:


Blues (8): Emoni Narawa, Kurt Eklund, Aaron Carroll (Bay of Plenty), Waimana Riedlinger-Kapa (Auckland), Jared Page, Mark Telea, Jack Heighton (North Harbour), Jordan Hyland* (Northland).


Chiefs (9): Bradley Slater*, Kini Naholo, Lisati Milo-Harris (Taranaki), Quinn Tupaea (Waikato), Ryan Coxon* (Tasman), Naitoa Ah Kuoi (Wellington), Dylan Nel (Otago), Kaleb Trask (Bay of Plenty), Orbyn Leger* (Counties-Manukau).


Hurricanes (5): Kane Leaupepe* (Bay of Plenty), Xavier Numia* (Wellington), Pouri Rakete-Stones, Devan Flanders, Danny Toala* (Hawke’s Bay).


Crusaders (12): Isi Tuungafasi* (Northland), George Bower* (Otago), Tom Christie, Brodie McAlister*, Cullen Grace, Fergus Burke, Inga Finau, Dallas McLeod (Canterbury), Ethan Roots (North Harbour), Sione Havili*, Fetuli Paea (Tasman), Sevu Reece* (Waikato).


Highlanders (12): Jeff Thwaites*, Zane Kapeli (Bay of Plenty), Jona Nareki, Ricky Jackson, Sione Misiloi (Otago), Manaaki Selby-Rickit, Ethan De Groot (Southland), Jesse Parete* (Taranaki), Kirisi Kuridrani** (Counties-Manukau), Teariki Ben-Nicholas, Connor Garden-Bachop (Wellington), Scott Gregory (Northland).



View all