The Freedom Cup is back on the line

GettyImages 1164612367 1

The All Blacks will also be defending the Freedom Cup, the trophy introduced in 2004 for competition between the two nations to celebrate 10 years of South African democracy. The All Blacks have held the Cup since 2010.


New Zealand was the first country invited to play South Africa after their re-admission to international competition in 1992 in a memorable game at Ellis Park won by the All Blacks 27-24.


It was the culmination of a 16-match tour. Firstly, of 11 games in Australia, and then five games in South Africa.


In 2004 the first game for the Cup was a one-off contest won by South Africa 40-26. Centre Marius Joubert scored three tries for the Springboks, with centre Jean de Villiers and wing Braydon Paulse also crossing. Fullback Percy Montgomery landed three conversions and three penalty goals. Fullback Mils Muliaina and wing Joe Rokocoko scored tries for the All Blacks. First five-eighths Andrew Mehrtens converted both tries and landed four penalty goals.


The Cup wasn't contested in 2005. But the following year, the All Blacks claimed it with a 35-17 win in Wellington, a game notable for Dan Carter's 25-points haul. He converted tries by Richie McCaw and Piri Weepu and landed seven penalty goals. They backed that with a 45-26 win in Pretoria, where Carter scored another 20 points alongside the five tries scored by Rico Gear, Luke McAlister, Mils Muliaina, Sitiveni Sivivatu and Neemia Tialata.



The All Blacks retained the Cup until 2009 when South Africa won both Tri Nations Tests 31-19 in Hamilton and 28-19 in Durban.


But once the All Blacks reclaimed it in 2010 with a hat-trick of wins. 29-22 in Johannesburg, 31-17 in Wellington and 32-12 in Auckland, they haven't let it go.


Although, in their last game, a one-off match in Wellington in 2019, they came close to losing it before the game was drawn 16-16.


Centre Jack Goodhue scored the only try for the All Blacks with first five-eighths Beauden Barrett kicking a conversion and penalty goal and replacement five-eighths Richie Mo'unga adding two penalty goals.


Replacement South Africa halfback Herschel Jantjies scored their only try. It came in the final moments when he followed up wing Cheslin Kolbe's centring kick. He beat halfback Aaron Smith for the ball. First five-eighths Handré Pollard landed the conversion and kicked three penalty goals.


View all