Thrilling playoffs in store at TECT National Sevens

GettyImages 1188356699

Play off positions were finalised, with tantalising match-ups confirmed for Tauranga Domain tomorrow.

In the men’s division, Auckland went through the day unbeaten, averaging more than 28 points a match to boast the best attacking statistics. In Pool B, winners Waikato based their play on a strong defensive game, also going through unbeaten and conceding just 12 points in their three matches.

Surprise package Hawke’s Bay topped Pool C, while it took until the very last match of the day to determine positions in Pool D, Taranaki claiming top spot courtesy of superior points difference.


Defending champions Tasman, Canterbury, Southland and hosts Bay of Plenty will all progress to Cup quarterfinals on Day Two, finishing second in their respective pools.

Counties Manukau, who have been in three of the last four TECT National Sevens finals will not have the opportunity to continue their dominant run, losing to Auckland and Canterbury in pool play to go through to the Bowl quarterfinals.

Their female counterparts pulled off the upset of the day, defeating reigning champions Manawatu in their last pool match, with a try after the full-time whistle to win 24-21. Counties Manukau and Waikato progress as the only two unbeaten teams from Day One, while Auckland also topped their pool despite dropping a match to Bay of Plenty.

Otago, Wellington and Canterbury round out the women’s Cup quarterfinals.


Tasman’s Jessica Drummond was the top try scorer on Day One, across both men’s and women’s, crossing for five tries. Manawatu’s Hayley Hutana was the leading women’s point scorer with 29, while Tiaan Falcon of Hawke’s Bay top scored for the men with 25.


Seven pieces of silverware will be handed out on day two, from the Shield winners through to men's and women's Cup champions. Also up for grabs are the Anna Richards Cup and Joe Tauiwi Memorial Trophy for the women's and men's Player of the Tournament.

Men's Cup Quarterfinals
Auckland v Tasman
Taranaki v Southland
Hawke's Bay v Bay of Plenty
Waikato v Canterbury

Women's Cup Quarterfinals
Counties Manukau v Canterbury
Wellington v Bay of Plenty
Auckland v Manawatu
Waikato v Otago


Men's Bowl Quarterfinals
Counties Manukau v South Canterbury
North Harbour v Thames Valley
Wellington v Manawatu
Otago v Wairarapa Bush

Women's Bowl Semifinals
Hawke's Bay v Taranaki
Tasman v North Harbour

Click here for Day One results and full Day Two Draw.



View all