Wallabies name first squad of 2021

GettyImages 1289519896

The 40-man squad was named at the weekend for a three-day camp next month on the Gold Coast.


The squad reflects performances in the Australian Super Rugby competition this season with 14 Brumbies, 12 Reds, seven Rebels, four Waratahs and three from the Force.


Rennie has left out some top players, including prop Scott Sio and hookers Folau Fainga'a and Jordan Uelese, and several from the poorly-performing Waratahs side, Jack Maddocks, Jack Dempsey, Will Harrison, Harry Johnson-Holmes, James Ramm and Tom Horton.


Rennie has told the missing players they need to 'fire up' over the next few weeks.


Fourteen uncapped players have been named. They feature Australian Sevens player and loose forward Tim Anstee, former Junior Wallaby hooker Lachlan Lonergan and veteran hooker David Porecki.


Anstee may have to wait for a Test elevation as he is still a contender to play for Australia's Sevens team at the Tokyo Olympics later this year.

Reds wing and former St Kentigern's old boy and Storm league centurion Suliasi Vunivalu has had prompt reward for his return to the 15-man game with inclusion. Force recruit, lock Sitaleki Timani, 34, is back for the first time since he toured with the Wallabies in 2013. He had several seasons in French club rugby before returning to Australia.


"He's come out of the French game which is pretty brutal, and very direct. He defends well and has a lot of experience so we want to have a look at him," Rennie told rugby.com.au.


Good form for the Brumbies has seen lock Cadeyrn Neville included at 32 years.


The average age of the squad is 25. The most capped player is prop James Slipper, who has played 100 Tests, while 20-year-old prop Angus Bell is the youngest inclusion.


The squad: Allan Alaalatoa, Tim Anstee, Tom Banks, Angus Bell, Filipo Daugunu, Pone Fa'amausili, Jake Gordon, Reece Hodge, Trevor Hosea, Len Ikitau, Feleti Kaitu'u, Josh Kemeny, Mariko Koroibete, Noah Lolesio, Lachlan Lonergan, Alex Mafi, Tate McDermott, Fraser McReight, Andy Muirhead, Isi Naisarani, Cadeyrn Neville, James O'Connor, Hunter Paisami, Jordan Petaia, David Porecki, Lukhan Salakaia-Loto, Pete Samu, Irae Simone, James Slipper, Darcy Swain, Lachlan Swinton, Sitaleki Timani, Matt To'omua, Taniela Tupou, Sere Uru, Rob Valetini, Suliasi Vunivalu, Nic White, Harry Wilson, Tom Wright.


View all