North Harbour Hibiscus: PREVIEW 2020

GettyImages 1046296016

Position in 2019

5th in Championship


Talking points

Hutana, who plays first five-eighth, has transferred from Tasman to Harbour due to work commitments and her experience will be key for this youthful and exciting side. Young flanker, Pia Tapsell had a breakthrough season in 2019. Making her Black Ferns debut and playing in all six Tests in San Diego, Perth, and Eden Park. While she missed most of last year’s Farah Palmer Cup through injury, expect to see her boost Harbour’s forward pack with her bustling runs and strength at set piece time. 


Dutch international player Lynn Koelman joins the squad from Bay of Plenty, while Harbour have also named two promising high school students. 18-year-old Latisha Trigwell from Long Bay College is set to make her debut this season, while fellow 18-year-old Tenaija Fletcher who made her Harbour debut last year, is still at Mahurangi College.


The Hibiscus are hoping to play two of their matches at club venues to showcase the game and encourage growth. The targeted games are against Waikato at the Mahurangi Rugby Football Club and against Auckland at the Kumeu Rugby Football Club.


Kate Williams will captain the side.



Incoming players

Shawn Lomu (Grammar Tech), Nesa Makasini (Grammar Tech), Clementine Vaea (College Rifles), Dora Filimoehaha (East RU, Brisbane, Australia), Jess Delany (Loughborough University, England), Brooke Ellison (Northcote RFC), Anna Powdrell (Hawke’s Bay), Tamea Tu Ruana (Navy RFC), Phoenix Litten (Navy RFC), Hayley Hutana (Tasman), Danielle Mellow (Waikato), Litiana Lase (Fiji), Zakiya Kereopa (Perth, Australia), Latisha Trigwell (Long Bay College), Mollie Tagaloa (Albany Barbarians), Lynn Koelman (Bay of Plenty)


Outgoing players

Raquel Garcia (returned to Spain), Rona Whatawhata (injury), Caitlyn Cox (retired), Natasha Dallow (retired), Nicole Brown (retired), Maddie Brooke (Northland), Chrissy Quedley (retired), Lexi Gray (retired), Justine Vizirgianakis (injury), Simone Small (injury), Inga Timani (retired), Ashley Nathan (injury)


Player to watch: Tenaija Fletcher

As mention, this 18 year-old is in her last year of school at Mahurangi College and in her second year of the Farah Palmer Cup, having made her debut last season. Last year, Fletcher, who plays in the loose forwards or at lock, was named as one of the 12 recipients of the Tania Dalton Foundation Scholarship. She’s become a key rugby leader and driver within her school team, and she’s expected to fire in her second season with the North Harbour Hibiscus.


North Harbour Hibiscus squad

Olivia Ward-Duin, JayJay Taylor, Shawn Lomu, Finesa Makasini, Toakase Filimoehala, Lynn Koelman, Danjela Haigh, Amy Robertshaw, Clementine Varea, Anita Berry, Sophie Fisher, Caroline Sio, Tearren Nanjan, Manutalaaho Huni, Brooke Ellison, Kate Williams ©, Pia Tapsell, Tenaija Fletcher, Jess Delaney, Hailey Beale, Anna Powdrell, Tamea Te Rauna, Hayley Hutana, Olivia Waldron, Renee Adams, Mikayla Robinson, Zakiya Kereopa, Danielle Mellow, Latisha Trigwell-Achmad, Mollie Tagaloa, Losi Mafi, Phoenix Littin, Litiana Lase, Molly Tagaloa

Coaches: Duncan McGrory (Head coach), Willie Walker (Assistant coach)



North Harbour Hibiscus draw

Counties Manukau v North Harbour

Saturday 5 September

2.35pm Navigation Homes Stadium


North Harbour v Bay of Plenty

Friday 11 September

4.35pm North Harbour Stadium


Taranaki v North Harbour

Saturday 19 September
2.45pm TET Stadium & Events Centre


North Harbour v Auckland

Saturday 26 September

1pm Kumeu RFC


Northland v North Harbour

Saturday 3 October

2.05pm Semenoff Stadium


North Harbour v Waikato
Saturday 10 October
1pm at Mahurangi RFC


North Harbour BYE

Saturday 17 October



View all