Press conference - All Blacks Sevens team named for Wellington

The All Blacks Sevens team to play the third leg of the 2015/16 HSBC World Series, the Wellington Sevens, features one new cap in Rugby World Cup winning All Black Sonny Bill Williams.

The side also sees the return of four Investec Super Rugby players who have pulled on the All Blacks Sevens jersey in recent seasons.

Brothers Akira Ioane and Rieko Ioane are the first brothers to play together in one tournament for the team. Akira made his debut for the All Blacks Sevens in Wellington two years ago and Rieko, a year ago, also in Wellington. Both also play for the Blues.

Hurricanes loose forward Ardie Savea also returns to the side after featuring in the team across six tournaments in 2012.

Blues wing Ben Lam last played for New Zealand at the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow in 2014 while Kurt Baker makes his return having last played in South Africa in 2014.

The team is:

Kurt Baker (Taranaki)
Sam Dickson (Canterbury)
Akira Ioane (Auckland)
Rieko Ioane (Auckland)
Gillies Kaka (Hawke’s Bay)
Ben Lam (Auckland)
Tim Mikkelson (Waikato)
Augustine Pulu (Counties Manukau)
Ardie Savea (Wellington)
Regan Ware (Waikato)
Sonny Bill Williams* (Counties Manukau)
Joe Webber (Waikato)

All Videos

View all