New Zealand Schools named for first Australia U18 match

h 00106303

New Zealand Schools team is;
1. Tonga Helu (Sacred Heart College)
2. Manumaua Letiu (Christchurch Boys' High School)
3. Logan Wallace (Palmerston North Boys' High School)
4. Josh Tengblad (Sacred Heart College)
5. Aisake Vakasiuola (Tauranga Boys’ College)
6. Quinten Holland (King's High School)
7. Oli Mathis (Hamilton Boys’ High School) (c)
8. Mosese Bason (Feilding High School)
9. Dylan Pledger (King's High School)
10. Rico Simpson (Sacred Heart College)
11. Kiseki Fifita (Southland Boys' High School)
12. Caelys-Paul Putoko (Hamilton Boys’ High School)
13. James Cameron (Westlake Boys' High School) (vc)
14. Tevita Naufahu (St Kentigern College)
15. Isaac Murray-Macgregor (Westlake Boys' High School)

16. Shaun Kempton (Rolleston College/Selwyn Combined)
17. Raharuhi Palmer (Hamilton Boys’ High School)
18. Sione Mafi (Nelson College)
19. Robson Faleafa (St Peter's College Auckland)
20. Jake Frost (Christchurch Boys' High School)
21. Micah Fale (St John's Hamilton)
22. Tayne Harvey (Palmerston North Boys' High School)
23. Charlie Sinton (Tauranga Boys’ College)
24. Rangiwai Lunjevich (Hamilton Boys’ High School)
25. Frank Vaenuku (De La Salle College)
26. Marshall Blakely (Christchurch Boys' High School)

Head Coach: Kane Jury
Assistant Coach: Ngatai Walker
Assistant Coach: James Hantz

New Zealand Schools Head Coach Kane Jury has named a 26-strong squad to play trans-Tasman rivals, Australia, in the first of two fixtures.

New Zealand’s next generation of players impressed last weekend at St Paul’s Collegiate in Hamilton, during their final preparations, when they recorded a 57-22 win over the New Zealand Barbarian Under 18 team.

Jury said the New Zealand Schools players were excited for the opportunity to represent New Zealand on the international stage.

“The group have connected really well off the field and are excited about the challenge ahead. We haven’t played against Australia since 2019, and the players are looking forward to putting on a performance that makes their schools and their families proud.”

The match kicks off at 5.05pm NZT and will be live on Sky.

The New Zealand Schools front row features players from across the country including four from Hamilton Boys’ High School and three each from Sacred Heart College and Christchurch Boys’ High School.

The front row features loosehead prop Tonga Helu, hooker Manumaua Letiu and tighthead Logan Wallace. Josh Tengblad and Aisake Vakasiuola will make up the locking duo. While Quinten Holland, Oli Mathis (captain) and Mosese Bason will complete a strong loose forward trio.

In the backs, Dylan Pledger and Rico Simpson have been named at nine and ten respectively, alongside a strong midfield combination of Caelys-Paul Putoko and James Cameron (vice-captain). An exciting back three of Kiseki Fifita on the left wing, Tevita Naufahu on the right wing, and Isaac Murray-Macgregor rounds out an exciting starting fifteen.

New Zealand Schools Trans-Tasman Schedule
Thursday 28 September | Viking Park, Canberra, Australia
Australia U18 v New Zealand Schools, 2.05pm (AEST)/5.05pm (NZDT)

Monday 2 October | Viking Park, Canberra, Australia
Australia U18 v New Zealand Schools, 12.05pm (AEDT)/2.05pm (NZDT)


View all