New Zealand Under 20s named for opening match of World Championships

GettyImages 1495539342

The match kicks off on Saturday 24 June, at 4PM SAT (2.00AM Sunday 25 June NZST) at Paarl Gymnasium, South Africa.

The matchday 23 is as follows (player province):

1.    Ben Ake (Auckland)

2.    Jack Taylor (Southland)

3.    Siale Lauaki (Wellington)

4.    Tahlor Cahill (Canterbury)

5.    Will Stodart (Otago)

6.    Che Clark (Auckland)

7.    Sam Hainsworth-Fa’aofo (Auckland)

8.    Peter Lakai – Vice captain (Wellington)

9.    Noah Hotham – Captain (Tasman)

10. Taha Kemara – Vice Captain (Waikato)

11. Macca Springer (Tasman)

12. Ajay Faleafaga (Otago)

13. Aki Tuivailala (Waikato)

14. Caleb Tangitau (Auckland)

15. Harry Godfrey (Hawke’s Bay)


16. Raymond Tuputupu (Manawatū)

17. Malakai Hala (Manawatū)

18. Gabe Robinson (Waikato)

19. Tom Allen (Hawke’s Bay)

20. Malachi Wrampling-Alec (Waikato) 

21. Jordi Viljoen (Manawatū)

22. Leo Gordon (Auckland)

23. Codemeru Vai (Bay of Plenty)

New Zealand Under 20 Head Coach Clark Laidlaw has named his starting 23 to challenge Wales Under 20 in their opening match of the World Rugby Under 20 Championship.

The New Zealand Under 20 starting front row features loosehead prop Ben Ake, tighthead prop Siale Lauaki and Jack Taylor at hooker. Tahlor Cahill and Will Stodart make up the locking duo, with Che Clark, Sam Hainsworth-Fa’aofo and Peter Lakai (Vice Captain) the loose forward trio.

Raymond Tuputupu, Malakai Hala, Gabe Robinson, Tom Allen and Malachi Wrampling-Alec will provide the forwards with impact off the bench.

In the backs, Noah Hotham (Captain) and Taha Kemara (Vice Captain) will take the field at nine and ten, alongside Ajay Faleafaga and Aki Tuivailala in the midfield at 12 and 13. The back three is made up of Macca Springer on the left wing, Caleb Tangitau on the right wing and Harry Godfrey at full back.

The reserve backs are Jordi Viljoen, Leo Gordon and Codemeru Vai.

The New Zealand Under 20 matches will be broadcast live and exclusive on Sky Sport. Find out more about the tournament HERE. 


View all