New Zealand Under 20s named to face Spain

h 00159980

The team have won their first two matches at the World Rugby Under 20 Championship.

Head Coach Jono Gibbes has made several changes to the side that defeated France last week.

The team is;
1. Senio Sanele
2. A-One Lolofie
3. Josh Smith
4. Tom Allen
5. Cameron Christie
6. Andrew Smith
7. Matt Lowe
8. Mosese Bason
9. Ben O’Donovan
10. Cooper Grant
11. Frank Vaenuku
12. Xavi Taele – captain
13. Xavier Tito-Harris
14. King Maxwell
15. Isaac Hutchinson

16. Manumaua Letiu
17. Sika Pole
18. Will Martin
19. Tai Cribb
20. Jeremiah Avei-Collins
21. Riley Williams
22. Rico Simpson
23. Aki Tuivailala

Xavi Taele will captain the side from second five-eighths, with Vernon Bason sitting out the final pool match. Taele and lock Tom Allen will be the only two players in the squad to start in all three matches.

Senio Sanele, A-One Lolofie and Joshua Smith all get their first starts in the front row, while Cameron Christie joins Allen in the second row after playing the previous two matches off the bench.

Andrew Smith and Mosese Bason combine again in the back row, with Matt Lowe starting at openside flanker.

Crusaders pair Ben O’Donovan and Cooper Grant will start at halfback and first five-eighths respectively while Xavier Tito-Harris comes in from the wing to start at centre. Isaac Hutchinson retains the fullback jersey, with King Maxwell earning his first start on the wing alongside Frank Vaenuku.

The New Zealand Under 20s currently sit at the top of Pool A with two bonus point wins and face Spain, it will be the first time the teams have met at an Under 20 Championship.

The World U20 Championship matches will all be broadcast live on Sky Sport.

The World U20 Championship schedule (times in NZT): 
New Zealand 41 v Wales 34
Sunday 30 June, kick off 5am

New Zealand 27 v France 26
Friday 5 July, kick off 2.30am

New Zealand v Spain
Wednesday 10 July, 5am

Monday 15 July


View all