New Zealand U20 team named to play Australia

h 00152107

Following a first up 13-13 draw against South Africa and a 43-20 win over Argentina, New Zealand can secure the trophy with a win against the tournament hosts Australia at Sunshine Coast Stadium on Sunday (12 May).

Gibbes and his coaching team continue to back their entire traveling squad with five changes to the team that started against Argentina and a further two on the reserves. Notably loose forwards Tristyn Cook and Jeremiah Avei-Collins gain their first appearances of the week, the former earning a start at blindside, and the former providing loose forward cover from the bench.

Game one standouts, wing Stanely Solomon and fullback Isaac Hutchinson, return to the starting backline, while lock Tom Allen and openside Johnny Lee come into the starting pack. Outside back Aki Tuivailala also returns to the squad to provide some firepower from the bench.

The side is once again captained by consistent hooker Vernon Bason who has led the team through the tournament.

The New Zealand Under 20 squad to play Australia Under 20 is below (changes from the previous match in bold):

1 Will Martin (Chiefs, Waikato)
2 Vernon Bason (Hurricanes, Manawatū) (c)
3 Joshua Smith (Hurricanes, Hawke’s Bay)
4 Tom Allen (Hurricanes, Hawke’s Bay)
5 Liam Jack (Crusaders, Canterbury)
6 Tristyn Cook (Blues, North Harbour)
7 Johnny Lee (Crusaders, Canterbury)
8 Malachi Wrampling (Chiefs, Waikato)
9 Dylan Pledger (Highlanders, Otago)
10 Rico Simpson (Blues, Auckland)
11 Stanley Solomon (Hurricanes, Wellington)
12 Tofuka Paongo (Hurricanes, Wellington)
13 Xavi Taele (Blues, Auckland) (vc)
14 King Maxwell (Blues, Auckland)
15 Isaac Hutchinson (Crusaders, Canterbury)


16 Manumaua Letiu (Crusaders, Canterbury)
17 Sika Pole (Blues, Auckland)
18 Kurene Luamanuvae (Blues, Auckland)
19 Andrew Smith (Chiefs, Waikato)
20 Jeremiah Avei-Collins (Hurricanes, Wellington)
21 Ben O’Donovan (Crusaders, Canterbury)
22 Sam Coles (Hurricanes, Manawatū)
23 Aki Tuivailala (Chiefs, Waikato)


View all