PREVIEW: All Blacks v Australia Second Test (Eden Park)

GettyImages 1332825852

Match details: All Blacks v Australia, Saturday 14 August, 7.05pm NZT, Eden Park, Auckland

Played: 171

Won: All Blacks 118, Australia 45, Drawn 8

Last time: All Blacks 33, Australia 25 (7 August 2021)

Referee: Brendon Pickerill


A win or a draw at Eden Park will see the All Blacks keep hold of the Bledisloe Cup for an incredible 19th straight season. The Wallabies haven’t won at Eden Park since 1986 but will be heartened by a three-try burst in the final 15 minutes last week to show they can push the All Blacks on their sacred fortress. Rookie Wallabies wing Andrew Kellaway said the side would be better for the first Test hit-out in Auckland. "You roll out to one of those places like Eden Park – it's mercurial in its atmosphere and such a tough place to play even at Super Rugby level. We get to do it two weeks in a row. We probably put out an unpolished performance on the weekend and you can almost look at it like a dress rehearsal. Now we're ready to roll,” Kellaway said.


Coach Dave Rennie has included blindside flanker Lachie Swinton and lock Matt Philip in the pack to increase the competitiveness of the Wallabies in the breakdown phases and defensive areas of the game. "We felt that for a 15-minute spell we lost all the collisions, and if you do that against the All Blacks you're going to concede points. To beat New Zealand, you have to win the collisions and be clinical for 80 minutes, and we didn't do that," Rennie said.


All Blacks Head Coach Ian Foster said the side is preparing for the Wallabies to throw everything at them with the Bledisloe Cup on the line. "We need to go forward. We're going to get a more committed Australian team and we need to make sure we're matching fire with fire," Foster said.


The All Blacks are undefeated in their last 26 Tests against the Wallabies on home soil, with the Wallabies last win in New Zealand coming on August 11, 2001.


From Jonah Lomu and Joe Rokocoko to Cory Jane and Julian Savea, we recall some of the flying wingers who have made their mark in Bledisloe Cup history.



All Blacks:

1. George Bower 2. Codie Taylor 3. Nepo Laulala 4. Brodie Retallick 5. Samuel Whitelock (C) 6. Akira Ioane 7. Dalton Papalii 8. Ardie Savea 9. Aaron Smith 10. Richie Mo’unga 11. Sevu Reece 12. David Havili 13. Rieko Ioane 14. Will Jordan 15. Damian McKenzie

RESERVES: Samisoni Taukei’aho, Karl Tu’inukuafe, Angus Ta’avao, Scott Barrett, Luke Jacobson, TJ Perenara, Beauden Barrett, Jordie Barrett


1: James Slipper 2: Brandon Paenga-Amosa 3: Allan Alaalatoa 4: Darcy Swain 5: Matt Philip 6: Lachlan Swinton 7: Michael Hooper (c) 8: Rob Valetini 9: Tate McDermott 10: Noah Lolesio 11: Marika Koroibete 12: Matt Toomua 13: Hunter Paisami 14: Andrew Kellaway 15: Tom Banks

RESERVES: Jordan Uelese, Scott Sio, Taniela Tupou, Lukhan Salakaia-Loto, Harry Wilson, Nic White, Matt Len Ikitau, Reece Hodge


View all