Black Ferns dominate World Rugby awards nominations

GettyImages 1440956770

The winners will be announced in Monaco on Sunday.

Black Ferns captain and first five-eighths Ruahei Demant and top-scoring wing Portia Woodman have been nominated for the Women's 15s player of the year away.

Woodman has previously won the award and this year scored her 20th World Cup try, a World Cup record.

The other finalists are Canada's Sophie de Goode, Alex Matthews from England and Laure Sansus from France.

In the Women's 15s breakthrough player of the year award, Black Ferns lock Maiakawanakaulani Roos and wing Ruby Tui are nominated. Roos' nomination is a reward for her string of outstanding performances through the tournament, while Tui scored eight tries in her nine Tests in the season.

The other nominees are Maud Muir of England and Vitalina Naikore of Fiji.

Wayne Smith is a contender for coach of the year with beaten England coach Simon Middleton, Andy Farrell of Ireland and Fabien Galthié of France.

Black Fern Sylvia Brunt's try for the side in their October 16 game with Wales is a contender for women's try of the year, along with those scored by Australia's Emily Chancellor against England on October 30, Abby Dow for England against Canada on November 5, Linda Djougang for Ireland against Wales on March 26 and Nomawethu Mabenge for South Africa against Spain on August 12.

New Zealand failed to have players included in both the men's and women's sevens players of the year, the men's XVs players of the year and the men's try of the year.


View all